Washington Board of Rabbis

The Washington Board of Rabbis (WBR) is a fiscally sponsored project of the Jewish Community Relations Council of Greater Washington (JCRC), which seeks to promote Rabbinic growth and development through ongoing opportunities for study, sharing, connection, and communal service.

Members of the WBR gather monthly, typically on the last Tuesday of the month at noon, at rotating synagogues. The WBR also maintains a membership listserve to promote collaborative programming and open communication throughout the rabbinic community.

WBR is a fiscally sponsored project of the Jewish Community Relations Council of Greater Washington (JCRC). The views expressed by WBR are its own and do not necessarily reflect the views of JCRC or any other organization.

Leadership Team

The WBR team consists of volunteers who are invested in the continuing education, fellowship, and spiritual activism of the Greater Washington rabbinic community.

Fresh ideas and suggestions for programming are always encouraged, and each year, new team leaders are welcomed.

Please feel free to reach out to any of the officers with your questions or comments.

Rabbi Uri Topolosky President

Rabbi Rachel Anne Hersh Vice President

Rabbi Evan Krame Treasurer

Rabbi Abbi Sharofsky JCRC Liaison

Rabbi Baht Weiss Immediate Past President

WBR & BBR Annual Yom Iyun

May 6 & 7, 1-2:30PM each day

Virtually on Zoom

Rabbis Nina Cardin and Avram Reisner will explore two competing Jewish ideologies seeking to define humanity’s relationship with the earth. Relying on a variety of texts, they will introduce what they believe is the Jewish imperative of environmental sustainability and responsibility.  

Contact Uri Topolosky for more information.

At Large Members

  • Rabbi Rachel Ackerman
  • Rabbi Mitchell Berkowitz
  • Rabbi Stephanie Bernstein
  • Rabbi Aaron Miller
  • Rabbi Fabian Werbi

Past Presidents

  • Rabbi A. Nathan Abramowitz
  • Rabbi Mendel Abrams
  • Rabbi Marvin Bash
  • Rabbi Joseph Brandriss
  • Rabbi Fred Scherlinder Dobb
  • Rabbi Sheldon Elster
  • Rabbi Joshua Haberman
  • Rabbi Martin Halpern
  • Rabbi Gregory Harris
  • Rabbi Doug Heifetz
  • Rabbi David Kaye
  • Rabbi Jonah Layman
  • Rabbi Eugene Lipman
  • Rabbi Jack A. Luxemburg
  • Rabbi Jack Moline
  • Rabbi Tzvi Porath
  • Rabbi Stanley Rabinowitz
  • Rabbi Fred N. Reiner
  • Rabbi Jonathan Schnitzer
  • Rabbi Samuel Scolnic
  • Rabbi Susan Shankman
  • Rabbi Matthew Simon
  • Rabbi Warren Stone
  • Rabbi Sam Volkman
  • Rabbi Stuart Weinblatt
  • Rabbi Lewis A. Weintraub
  • Rabbi Baht Yameen Weiss
  • Rabbi Jeffery Wohlberg